//
you're reading...
Lifestyle & Culture

It’s Official: Art Makes You Happy!

Rhythm of Life by Hannah Uzor

I went with a few friends to the Untitled Artists’ Fair yesterday.  I had been looking forward to it for weeks and as the weather was lovely on Saturday, I was in no doubt that I would be in for a lovely day out.

It started well enough, a lovely service at All Souls, Langham Place put me in a good mood, but by the time I had an unhelpful conversation with a clueless C2 bus driver who terminated the bus unexpectedly at Oxford Circus because Regents Street was closed because of a Spanish fair; changed buses three times and it started to look like rain, I was in quite a foul mood!

Naturally, this got better when I got to the art fair at the old Chelsea Town Hall and met up with my friends.  We had all been invited by a mutual friend, Hannah Uzor, a budding Artist who was showing her work at the fair.

As we got into the hall, my excitement mounted as I came across all these amazing works of art ranging from beautiful Sculptures in Bronze to vivid paintings, photographs and even a glass sculpture of a dancing lady made from reclaimed shattered glass from a vandalised bus stop. I was so excited by so much art that I kept clapping my hands gleefully, jumping up and down saying, ‘Art makes you happy! Art makes you happy!’- much to the puzzlement and amusement of my friends and a few onlookers.

The Artist Hannah Uzor at the Untitled Artists’ Fair on 4/5 June

The highlight of the show was the beautiful work of said friend which was vivid, colourful and distinct. I asked her what was the most fulfilling thing about her work and being  an Artist. ‘ I think, just being able to tell the story behind the painting….I have a basic structure and let the painting take life when it finishes…I don’t how it’s going to come out in the end and when it finally comes out and it captures the story you want to tell, people see it and say “Oh wow” and then you tell them the story behind it and then they say, ” Oh I didn’t see that”, just being able to tell the story and show them something they didn’t see in the painting before..’ She sees her work as being a form of communication, story-telling if you will and I really identified with that.

She said the punters favorite piece was ‘Rhythm of Life’ which people responded to  instantly because of the colours and fluid lines.  My favourite piece was ‘The Onion Lady’ and when she explained that it was about the nature and strength of a woman and how she multi-tasks, but is often taken for granted and just like the onion in cooking, is sorely missed if she’s not there, I understood why I identified with it so strongly.  She attracted the attention of a journalist and a gallery owner and we hope to see more of her soon.

Interviewing Hannah for the Blog…

Needless to say, by the end of the show I was ecstatic and even fell in love a little bit with a brilliant photographer, Francis Aliefeh, who had a way with a camera and unique, beautiful images of my beloved London.  I found out that this is not that strange, as Professor Semir Zeki, an expert in neuroesthetics, who carries out research into the relationship between brain activity and aesthetic appreciation and artistic creativity has found that the feelings associated with appreciating art are the same as those of falling in love!

So it’s not surprising that even though it was raining heavily by the time we left the art fair and I had left my umbrella at home (silly Londoner!) I was happy as Larry!

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “It’s Official: Art Makes You Happy!

  1. Well that explains why you were hopping up and down like a rabbit!!! Lol! Hannah’s ‘Rhythm’ is certainly a stunning piece of work! Well done to her, and thank you for writing about it!

    Posted by Shade | 6 June 2011, 11:29 pm
  2. We must get a picture of ‘The Onion Lady’…

    Posted by Shade | 7 June 2011, 12:03 am
  3. Also…you didn’t fall in love with Francis Aliefeh a little…you fell in love with him A LOT!! (So did I 🙂 xx)

    Posted by beautypulse | 15 August 2011, 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

