//
you're reading...
Religion

White As Snow

All Souls Langham Place - Image by Gillian King 5 February 2012

Welcome to my new Sunday blog, where I talk about my faith.

As a Christian, I look forward to going to church on Sundays. Especially when I’ve had a hard week (I’ve been having many of those lately) and when that happens, it helps to have something to believe in; to have a perspective that is universal, ancient and constant.

So when I woke up this morning with an instinct to snuggle up with the duvet and watch romantic comedies (or Oprah) all day, I was a bit disappointed. It is lucky then, that just yesterday I happened to read a quote from the prophet Isaiah, ‘If you do not stand firm in your faith, you will not stand at all’.

So it was, that in spite of the snow and the freezing temperatures, I ventured beyond the duvet and braved the snow covered streets for the short bus ride to All Souls Langham place. It was a beautiful service as always and I won’t attempt to share Rector Hugh Palmer’s message of hope: freedom, boldness and change found through the spirit of God. It can be found on All Souls’ website and it’s available from Tuesday, 7 February.

My favourite part of the service though was when Jenny Brown welcomed us by talking about the snow and how the clean white image of the snow was very attractive to most of us.  She went on to say that the bible tells us how to think about snow and then quoted from Isaiah Chapter 1 verse 18, ‘…..Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;…’

It was so comforting to know as I was trying to stand firm in my faith, that the snow, far from being a hindrance to faith: stopping me from going to church, causing all kinds of disruption and injury, is a symbol of forgiveness, love and hope in Christ.  As a forgiven sinner I can have freedom, boldness and a change in my life in the coming week and so can you. Have a wonderful week to come!

Here are some images of the snow, taken by me and some friends!

Children Playing in the Snow! Image by Gillian King

Snow Begins....Image by Gillian King

Picture Perfect Image by Flashade

'Zoltan, as named by Wills' Image by Nkem Ivara, proud Mum of Wills

The Gritters Did a Good Job! Image by Gillian King

White As Snow Image by Gillian King

White As Snow Image by Gillian King

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “White As Snow

  1. It’s nice to have such a visual reminder of God’s forgiveness of our sins. Wills and Eeph will be very proud to see their handiwork so proudly displayed 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by The Wordsmythe | 5 February 2012, 7:48 pm
  2. I feel so bad now Gill, i did not go out, but i still listen to the message.

    Posted by tayo | 5 February 2012, 8:05 pm

Leave a Reply

