//
you're reading...
Religion

Easter and the Eggs

Easter is fast approaching and as a Christian, I can’t help but be excited! I know it’s lent and we are supposed to be sober-minded, following in the footsteps of Christ and fasting for 40 days, or in my case trying to give up pork, but I just have that sense of anticipation and hope that Easter brings.

Listening as I have been constantly to Handel’s Messiah, studying Isaiah at my Bible Study group, (especially Isaiah 53) and the recent spring weather, all conspire to give me a feeling of hope and anticipation as Easter approaches.  Of course my son coming home from university can only add to all the excitement.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I feel this way, that after all is what Easter is all about, a new beginning, a fresh start, an opportunity to look at what Christ did on the cross and say, ‘Christ has risen, I can live forever!’ It’s an awesome thing and one that I’m grateful for and joyous about!

Of course along with Easter come Easter eggs and egg hunts and while some more fundamental Christians might question the origin of these traditions, much as they do the origins of Christmas, or frankly anything fun, I choose to view it in light of my faith rather than discard them because of it.

So it was that I joined in the camaraderie and fun that is the Big Egg Hunt, organised by a couple of charities to raise money. There are 210 giant eggs (including a roving one that changes location!) all over London for enthusiasts to find and donate money to charity.  I have so far collected only about 20% of the eggs, but it’s been so much fun, traipsing around London, with friends and strangers and finding the eggs, which were produced by artists and are true works of art. My little Blackberry which I have been using to photograph them can hardly do them justice, but I hope you will enjoy them anyway.

Christ has died, Christ is Risen, Christ will come again!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Easter and the Eggs

  1. I love the slide show!

    Thank God for Easter and what it reminds us of.

    Happy Egg hunting.

    Posted by The Wordsmythe | 25 March 2012, 9:34 pm
  2. I love the pictures! They are wonderful.

    Wayne

    Posted by Wayne | 25 March 2012, 9:52 pm
  3. Nice one GK! Hallelujah, hallelujah, HALLELUJAH! Christ has come, Christ has risen, Christ will come again! HOPE rises! Hallelujah!

    Posted by Shade Olutobi | 28 March 2012, 9:03 pm
  4. On egg-hunting matters, (LOL), I have since found out that the pasty pink egg in your slideshow is covered with heat-sensitive paint. When it is cold, it goes dark brown/aubergine-coloured and when it’s hot, it turns pink/peach. Had we known… ;-0)

    Posted by Shade Olutobi | 28 March 2012, 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

