//
you're reading...
General Comment

Reflections of an Aspiring Writer

I’ve recently missed a couple of my posting days, last week Thursday and Sunday, due to illness. So though this is an out of time post, I hope my followers will forgive me and enjoy my reflections.

I’m reflecting on the fact that it’s almost exactly a year since I started this blog and I’m looking forward to my 1st anniversary post on Thursday, next week! I’m looking forward to it because, this blog has actually achieved what I wanted it to and helped me improve my writing and write regularly, with a view to writing a book.

I’ve wanted to write a book ever since I learned to write and in fact did write one when I was 7 years old, a complete story, with chapters, beginning, middle and end and illustrations. I wrote it all out manually of course, as this was before the age of the PC (gosh that makes me sound ancient, thank God I still have my looks!).  It was bound and looked like a proper published book and when I’m feeling a bit unsure of myself during my current narrative, I think to myself, well I’ve done it all before.

Seriously, though, this blog has helped me keep up the discipline of writing and the more I write, the more I remember why I enjoy it so and want to do it even more.  I struggled a bit in the beginning with the postings, when to post, what to post and so on, and not being the most technical person in the world, I struggled a bit with the technology.  Thanks to WordPress, who have mercy on us technophobes, I find writing my blog extremely satisfying and miss it when I don’t write. At the beginning of the year I started posting twice a week at the suggestion of a friend (yeah that’s right, I’m either talking about blogging, thinking about blogging or actually blogging!) and since I started the regular posts have found the ‘deadlines’ very helpful.

My next challenge is combining the blogging with the book, but I’m sure blogging will help with that too, as I’m toying with the idea of starting another blog related to my book. I’m finding that writing a book is a journey in itself and I would love to blog about my ups downs, highs, lows and dare I say it….. writers block!  I’ve finished the first draft of the first chapter and that was a real milestone and I would have loved to blog about that. I’m well into the second chapter now and the planning and research (even though it’s autobiographical) is a journey and an experience, which I would also like to write about.

It’s been a real uplifting and rewarding experience and long may it continue! I live in hope that in my next anniversary edition I’ll be talking about being a published author!

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

