//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Summer Loving

It’s true what they say! Time really does fly when you’re having fun. It’s been quite a while since my last post.  I’ve been having a love affair!

As August draws to a close and the autumn air settles on London, I’m taking a bit of time to reflect on my summer of love.

No, not romantic love! Not a summer romance, not a torrid affair with a French basket ball olympian (you can tell I thought about it!). No, it’s not that kind of love at all.

It’s my love for the city of my birth, London. This summer, I discovered a new love for a city that I think I’ve always loved.

I always thought it was a bit over the top and frankly very American, the way New Yorkers always go on about their love for their city. They write songs about it, romanticising the virtues of a ‘concrete jungle’ as Alicia keys famously wrote. They feature its treasures, secrets and peculiarities in films, as Woody Allen does endlessly. In all these odes to a city, you can tell that what they really love is what the city means to them: a haven, a symbol, hope, triumph and failure, which always holds the possibility of triumph another day.

This summer, not only did the Olympics feature London in its best possible light, but my niece also arrived from Texas, for a holiday she had saved up for, for two years, as a result of a visit her Dad (my brother) had treated her to when she was much younger.

It gave me an opportunity to show off my city, show off iconic features that are famous world wide, not just Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and the obvious, but also Camden Market, Covent Garden and the back streets of central London at 4am; a night bus ride from Waterloo after watching the Dark Knight Rises at the Imax. The quirky sense of humour evident in the Olympic Mascots dotted around the city.

My summer loving is not over, as I look forward to watching the swimming and athletics and enjoying the atmosphere of the Olympic park during the paralympics, I’ll no doubt see yet another dimension to this great city that I love with all my heart.

I just hope my love doesn’t continue to keep me from my blog!

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Summer Loving

  1. #ilovelondon too! #london2012 rocks!

    Posted by Shade Olutobi | 31 August 2012, 11:22 pm

Leave a Reply

