//
you're reading...
General Comment

The Undulating Curve of the Written Word

image

As you can imagine, and probably tell from my title, l’m rather enamoured with the written word and I don’t mean the neat typescript we see in newspapers and books. Of course they make reading delightful, free from eye strain and brain drain from trying to decipher an impossible scribble.

No, I think there’s something special about handwriting. I realise, of course that it would be absurd if I wasn’t enamoured with the written word just at the moment, seeing as I’m in the middle of the first draft of my first book, but that’s not the only reason.

I’ve always found it necessary to write long-hand and then type out what I’ve written. It might sound like the long way to do it, but I’ve found that I need to write to think. Not type, write. Even if it’s just few scribbles to get my brain in gear, I need to write my thoughts down.

I really don’t know why this is, except that it has something to do with the action of writing. It might also be the sight of my own handwriting that kicks my brain into gear.

There are few things quite as personal as handwriting. That’s why handwritten historical documents are so vaIuable and why when even in this day and age, when everything is typewritten, anything with a handwritten signature is equally valuable.

Obsessed with crime shows as I am, I also know that handwriting is almost as good as a fingerprint for identifying a culprit. Document examiners can (and do) examine the curve of the ‘y’ and the ‘f’ to determine the writer’s style and form. It can also be applied to typewritten documents using forensic examination of words and word association to determine who wrote the ‘murder to-do list’ or who didn’t write the suicide note!

Now that I’ve discovered a new phone with a stylus, l can scribble away electronically and write, rather than type my emails and texts! Oh what joy!

Please share your scribbling stories. I would love to hear them.

About Gillian King

Passionate about being black, British, Christian and a Londoner,(not necessarily in that order). Other passions flow from this, football, politics and smiling! I write what I'm passionate about.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Undulating Curve of the Written Word

  1. Hey GK!

    Great to see you blogging again…

    …I thought I was the only one left on earth who still writes like this! Whether at work or when writing creatively, I have to write it out in long-hand first for it to make any real sense; then I type it up. Some may think it’s a waste of time but believe me, I spend much longer staring at the screen otherwise.

    Posted by The Writer | 2 June 2013, 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

